OST: They Kiss Again

It has been over two years since the first episode of “It Started With A Kiss” and the long awaited arrival of “They Kiss Again”. Not only has there been high anticipation for the drama but also for the OST. I am what some consider a drama addict. I watch the drama, listen to the music and immediately want to run out (or hop onto YesAsia) and buy the music. The long wait has not been in vain as the OST not only met, but also exceeded my expectations. The OST contains seven songs performed by various artists (including members of the cast), three instrumentals and a bonus strings version of Ariel Lin’s “Ni” (You). The album comes in two versions, Zhi Shu Version and Xiang Qin Version, each with a bonus DVD.

“Xin Fu He Zhuo She”, performed by Mavis Fan is the opening theme song. I have to admit that I initially did not like the song, but it does grow on you. The song has a very relaxing, lounge-type of feel. It makes you want to throw on your dancing shoes and just glide across the dance floor.

“Ni” (You) by Ariel Lin is the second song and also the closing theme song. Although I sometimes feared that Ariel would not be able to hit the high notes, she has improved greatly since “Gu Dan Bei Ban Qiu”(Lonely Northern Hemisphere). The songs feels as if Xiang Qin’s is singing to Zhi Shu, but at the same time the listener can also easily relate to the feeling of cherishing someone you care about.

Joe’s “Zhong Yu Yuan Wei”(Loyal To The Original Taste) is amazingly adorable. I can’t help but listen and smile at the innocence and sweet sentiments. Joe’s english makes the song all the more adorable.

“Ni Chen Jing Rang Wo Xin Dong” (You Once Made My Heart Beat) by A-Chord is easily my favorite song on the album. Maybe it’s A-Chord’s sexy voice, the guitar or the melt-any-girls-heart lyrics but I just love this song.

Overall, I would have to rate this as one of my favorite OSTs in that I enjoy listening to every track. No need to skip. As a fan of the show, I like the fact that the songs often remind me of happy/sad/funny moments in the show. As a music fan, the music is just as great because it is more than just sappy love music. It has a refreshing air that, even for just a moment, lets you escape the worries and stress of daily life.

Rating: 9/10

Track Listing:
1. Xing Fu He Zuo She (Blessed Cooperation) by Mavis Fan
2. Ni (You) by Ariel Lin
3. Zhong Yu Yuan Wei (Loyal To The Original Taste) by Joe Cheng
4. Be Your Superman by Chun Biao Yan
5. Cang Zai Wei Xiao Li De Mi Mi (The Secret Hidden In The Smile) by Cyndi Chaw
6. Ni Ceng Jing Ran Wo Xin Dong (You Have Once Made My Heart Beat) by A-Chord
7. Heaven- by Cai Han Cen and Cai Yi Zhen
8. Xing Fu He Zuo She (Blessed Cooperation) Instrumental
9. Ni (You) Instrumental
10. Cang Zai Wei Xiao Li De Mi Mi (The Secret Hidden In The Smile) Instrumental
11. Ni (You) Strings Version by Ariel Lin